List of UNCG’s newly appointed chancellor search committee

Emily Bruzzo, News Editor

UNCG has selected its new chancellor search committee— read more tomorrow to get the full story!

For now, here are UNCG’s 23 search committee members, with links to their information.


Frances Bullock: served on UNCG’s board of trustees since 2013

Brad Hayes: board of trustees since July 1, 2014 (1987, UNCG undergrad)

Ward Russell: served on UNCG’s board of trustees since 2013

Susan Safran: board of trustees chairwoman and the search committee chairwoman. She’s served on UNCG’s board of trustees since 2009 (1977, UNCG undergrad)

David Sprinkle: served on UNCG’s board of trustees since 2010


Celia Hopper: dean of the School of Health and Human Sciences (1974, UNCG masters)

Charlie Maimone: UNCG’s vice chancellor of business affairs


Omar Ali: African American and African diaspora studies associate professor and director of graduate studies

Kelly Burke: professor of music and associate dean of the School of Music, Theater and Dance

Susan Calkins: professor of human development and family studies and Bank of America Excellence Professor

Wade Maki: senior lecturer of philosophy and UNCG faculty senator

Anne Wallace: professor of English


Lori Kerr: executive assistant to the dean of the Graduate School

Mary Swantek: assistant director of alumni relations

Kim Zinke: project manager in the office of assessment and accreditation and co-chairwoman elect of UNCG’s staff senate.


Joseph Graham: vice president of the Student Government Association.

Elizabeth Warren: chairwoman of the Graduate Student Government Association


Jeffrey Collins: (1984, UNCG undergrad) President of the UNCG Alumni Association board of directors.

Sarah Shoffner: (1962, UNCG undergrad) Retired UNCG professor of human environmental sciences.

Jana Waganseller: (1976, UNCG undergrad) Past president of the UNCG Alumni Association


Michelle Gethers-Clark: president and CEO of United Way of Greater Greensboro

George Hoyle: Managing partner of Compass Financial Partners. Hoyle mentioned at today’s meeting he was on UNCG’s 1987 national championship soccer team (1990, UNCG undergrad)

Ed Kitchen: president and chief operating officer of the Joseph M. Bryan Foundation of Greater Greensboro. He is Chairmen of the Gateway University Research Park, which is a collaboration between UNCG and A&T. According to the News and Record, he also leads the Union Square Campus project.

The News and Record reported that Kitchen is the only search committee member to have served on the committee that hired Chancellor Linda Brady.

Though they are not members of the chancellor search committee, three other people will be in attendance at the meetings, they are:

Ann Lemmon: secretary of the UNC system. She will assist the search committee with all of its needs.

Bonita Brown: UNCG’s vice chancellor and chief of staff

Imogene Cathey: UNCG’s general counsel

Categories: emily bruzzo, News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: